The Social MEDIA TRIFLE

Taking it on one spoonful at a time!

Why Am I Seeing This?

Leave a comment

I love finding shortcuts and easy ways to do my job. I don’t mean that I’m lazy but with all the tasks that are required to do this job well, having tools that make them easier and faster are beneficial. It’s the old “it’s not how well you mow fast, it’s how fast you mow well” kind of thing. Examples of this include Hootsuite which makes my posting life a dream. Google Analytics which give me the insight to know who is paying attention to me. Other things like Facebook and Google trends allow me to think about current events in terms of our business and use those topics as a stepping off point to timely posts that people are tuned into right now.

This business is about keeping up with your competitors and putting out better resources that draw the attention of new clients. There are a few tricks out there like following their pages, blogs and Instagram accounts to see what they are sharing and then taking that and in your own way turning that into your own useful information sharing. I came across another handy tip today thank you to one of the many social media resource experts that I look to for help when I need it. I am not sure about you, but I am super sensitive about seeing annoying ads in my personal Facebook Newsfeed. I shouldn’t be because we have advertised on our social media channels so I get it. I just don’t necessarily appreciate it all the time. So, the suggestion, which might border on simple brilliance, was that when you see an ad from your competitors which is pretty easy to spot you should click on the “why am I seeing this option” choice instead of hitting “hide this ad”. When you do that, you will be able to see why you’re seeing the ad which tells you the demographic that they are targeting and a small piece of insight into why. BAM! super smart right?

This isn’t really sneaky just creative in that it allows you to begin thinking about to whom you should consider marketing to and some of the why. Now, you may already be doing this but if you’re not it will at least provide you with an idea or two on potential ways and topics with which to reach a certain demographic that may seem just out of your marketing reach. Add this to your regular strategic arsenal and you’ll only fine tune not only your target audience but also the way in which you are reaching them.

Author: SteelMonarch1

Mother, Wife, runner, social butterfly & happy employee who has turned social media it into a passion, a job and an experience. I share what I know and what I learn about social media for business from the many networks I frequent with all of my followers so they may incorporate it into their world. I am always learning in this ever changing environment that never stops and enjoy the non stop pace probably because I don't either. Connect with me and we can share the path!

Leave a Reply

