The Social MEDIA TRIFLE

Taking it on one spoonful at a time!

Just Give Me the X!

Leave a comment

Just Give Me The XI spend an enormous amount of time on the internet as a result of the nature of my job.  Digital Experience Coordinator in charge of all things social media.  This means I read many things for many hours in any given week.  I like to share thoughts on social media here as well as ideas and inspirations that I have on how you can best utilize social media to your advantage.

My thought on social media, as forward facing and visible as it needs to be, is that it should not be “in your face” jumping up and down screaming for your attention.  Should you place social ads?  Sure.  Why wouldn’t you?  It’s part of the game and the way in which you attract new customers.  What it doesn’t have to be is used timeshare sales person type forcing you to listen to their pitch.

Today I tried to read an article, actually it was a video.  When I opened the website there were two videos that played simultaneously.  One was the video I came to see and the other was an ad.  Not only was it an AD embedded into the body of the article that I would read which was supported by the video attraction but there was no way to turn it off, skip it, mute it or bypass it.  I looked and looked.  It’s almost like a game of search and find which I have gotten pretty good at as the advertisers have gotten more and more clever.  Nope!  No “X” to exit!  I had to pause the video I wanted to see to let the dreaded AD play through and then close up the word gap it created when I opened it before I could proceed.

Let me assure you that there is NOTHING on this earth that a merchant could sell that I would ever consider buying after they rudely interrupted my focus.  It wasn’t even anything I would buy normally (candy) let alone buy after being held hostage for a minute while you subjected me to your vision of how awesome you think, I should think your product is.

Place ads to your hearts content but know that by forcing people to sit through an entire minute of proverbial advertising vomit, you most likely will not increase your click through rate except for those poor souls who are trying to get away from you and your AD.  Please just give me the little “X” so I can get back to what I was doing.

Author: SteelMonarch1

Mother, Wife, runner, social butterfly & happy employee who has turned social media it into a passion, a job and an experience. I share what I know and what I learn about social media for business from the many networks I frequent with all of my followers so they may incorporate it into their world. I am always learning in this ever changing environment that never stops and enjoy the non stop pace probably because I don't either. Connect with me and we can share the path!

Leave a Reply

