The Social MEDIA TRIFLE

Taking it on one spoonful at a time!

It’s a Big RESPONSE-ABILITY

Leave a comment

response abilityI was brought up to believe that anything worth doing is worth doing right. Thank you Mom. When I take on a task I give it my all and although I am not a perfect person I do my best to do my best with whatever it is that I am tasked with. I see so many self-proclaimed experts out there that throw words on virtual paper just to increase the number of posts without having one valuable point or in some cases even a comprehensible flow for understanding. Continue this bad habit and your viewership will diminish pretty quickly.

If I am teaching a class it’s important to outline what the day will bring for the participants, answer questions and provide the right resources. It is my responsibility to also know when I need to stop and spend more time on a topic or when and what to possibly shorten or skip depending on the crowd. My job is to present the promised material and my responsibility is to know when that presentation needs to be altered and in what medium it should be done. The tricky part is completing both successfully. I just viewed / read a story about WWE Icon Triple H coming out of character for a young fan who who was upset by something he said. By knowing when to break from his “plan” he most likely will not only keep a loyal young fan but gain others as that boy tells his poignant tale. Had he ignored the boy he may have lost more than a fan. He may have sacrificed respect.

If I am writing a blog, such as this very one, it is my job to write it on a regular basis on relevant topics to my field, role and industry. My responsibility here is to ensure I am understood by my readers. This includes things such as writing clear and concise with an introduction to the topic, valid points and a summary of some kind. This probably comes from writing so many English papers in the same format throughout my high school experience and from helping my children with their papers. As a writer it is important for the author to take their audience from beginning to end. It is not appropriate to simply come up with a title and throw a list of numbered points with no intro or summary. That to me is like throwing a new employee on the assembly line on day one with a :15 second intro to the machine they are about to operate. This in my mind can only end up a few ways; the loss of the employee, injury, broken machinery, poor products or on the more humorous side like the famous I Love Lucy Chocolate Scene. Humorous albeit unfortunate and most assuredly irresponsible.

The point I make here is that as a leader you must take the time to be thorough, thoughtful and insightful to your audience. Whether you lead a group or write for the masses, it is important to take the time to ensure that they can follow you to your point and that you provide the resources to help them get there. Having the appropriate map is quite important. Slapping out blogs just to say you have 237 posts is pointless if they are simply a compilation of meaningless sentences that leave the reader wondering what it is that they just read. By taking the time to invest in the material you are sharing you will build your reputation as a thought leader while growing your followers who will take time to share and comment as well. After all, your ABILITY will drive the RESPONSE you receive.

Author: SteelMonarch1

Mother, Wife, runner, social butterfly & happy employee who has turned social media it into a passion, a job and an experience. I share what I know and what I learn about social media for business from the many networks I frequent with all of my followers so they may incorporate it into their world. I am always learning in this ever changing environment that never stops and enjoy the non stop pace probably because I don't either. Connect with me and we can share the path!

Leave a Reply

