The Social MEDIA TRIFLE

Taking it on one spoonful at a time!

You Have To Speak To Be Heard

Leave a comment

oceanI read an article today that speaks to exactly what I have come to learn and believe in the world of social media.  You must have a voice to become what you want to be.  If you spend your time sharing posts & re-tweeting you become like the waves of the ocean…predictable and a lot like white noise which remains in the background while other more important things happen.  I like Adam De Vile’s (@adamdevile) perspective because I share it.  You can spend hours reposting and sharing other people’s content which will initially get you noticed.  I for one when someone shares my content head over to that person’s profile on every possible main media platform to see what they are all about.  If someone wants to follow me on Twitter (@Brennagimler) for work or even my own personal Twitter which focuses on running and fitness for a fourty something, the first thing I do is check them out to see if what they add to the social sphere is worth my time.  If it is, I accept and follow back.  If it isn’t I’ll allow them to follow me by request but have no desire to see their sludge in my newsfeed on any platform.

I don’t have time to waste reading useless information or information that is simply regurgitated from another source.  I’ll skip the middle man if what is being shared comes from someone else and go follow the actual thought leader who cared enough to write something original / unique.  I like thoughtful people.  I like those who put effort into what they do.  Don’t get me wrong, I do my fair share of retweeting, sharing posts and articles because it’s part of the way this game is played.  You have to and if you don’t accept that then you are in for a hard travelled road that doesn’t need to be such.  The point here is to have an opinion.  Take time to search for helpful information and give it away for free.  Take time to read and comment on what the other hard working folks spend time creating.  These are the things that will grow followers, get you added to lists and draw the commentary that will get you noticed. It is a give and take game that takes skill and time to build but one that is worth the effort and time.

Like me, dislike me.  At least I have an opinion

Author: SteelMonarch1

Mother, Wife, runner, social butterfly & happy employee who has turned social media it into a passion, a job and an experience. I share what I know and what I learn about social media for business from the many networks I frequent with all of my followers so they may incorporate it into their world. I am always learning in this ever changing environment that never stops and enjoy the non stop pace probably because I don't either. Connect with me and we can share the path!

Leave a Reply

