The Social MEDIA TRIFLE

Taking it on one spoonful at a time!

Make It A Habit!

Leave a comment

social media clock 2If you are into social media either recreationally or for work there is one thing that you know for sure…it’s a lot of work! If for you, as it is for me, it is your job it is a hell of a lot of work! Not only do you need to post valuable content, you need to read what others have posted. If you are new to this game, which I hope you aren’t, you may be wondering why you need to read and just how much time does that take anyway? Well let me fill you in kemosabe! Grab your coffee, put your ear buds in and read on,

We as social professionals read for many reasons. We read to:

  • Stay up to date on what the industry is talking about so you may sound intelligent on what is happening and apply appropriate messages to your brand and products
  • Find the industry experts who actually know what they are talking about and share valuable content and often
  • Learn and have an opinion
  • Engage with others and have others engage with our content
  • Stay on top of trends and new tools that will be useful to us

There are many reasons we read which I won’t attempt to even try to entirely summarize here. Whatever your reason for reading you must agree that the amount of reading is overwhelming. Everyone is putting out content every day, many of which are the exact same topic merely phrased or ordered differently. In a given day just on LinkedIn I can spend a mere hour reading updates and posts that number 100 on average. That is just ONE resource. We could very realistically spend all day every day reading and never catch up. This can be summed up by one of my favorite all time poignant quotes (Meet Joe Black):

“Multiply it by infinity, and take it to the depth of forever, and you will still have barely a glimpse of what I’m talking about.” -William Parrish

It’s never ending and can be quite daunting. So how do we tackle a task that seems unending, overwhelming and just plain time consuming? The answer is daily. It isn’t a fancy answer nor is is deep, insightful or an amazing answer. It is what it is and that is all it is. If we set aside time each day to do a little reading and commenting and posting not to mention blogging it becomes a habit. I have had to learn to make this my routine in order to manage and excel at what I do. Am I perfect? No, of course not! I am very efficient however and you can be too with just a little time invested each day into reading and learning who the experts are. By doing this you will quickly learn who has diamonds and who has coal which will increase the ROI on your time investment. It will also help give you a voice that others will want to return to in their time investments.

By making daily reading part of your routine you create a habit that will set you above the ones who simply put content out there regardless of its value just to say they did it. Now who wants to be THAT guy? Not I!

Author: SteelMonarch1

Mother, Wife, runner, social butterfly & happy employee who has turned social media it into a passion, a job and an experience. I share what I know and what I learn about social media for business from the many networks I frequent with all of my followers so they may incorporate it into their world. I am always learning in this ever changing environment that never stops and enjoy the non stop pace probably because I don't either. Connect with me and we can share the path!

Leave a Reply

