The Social MEDIA TRIFLE

Taking it on one spoonful at a time!

My Rules Of Thumb

Leave a comment

rules of thumbBlogging is in my mind over thought.  Many people stress out about what to write and spend far too much time dreaming up the best and most important key topics to share with their audience because that’s what the experts are doing.  If you think you have to share the latest and greatest all the time, think again!  Your audience wants valuable information from you not necessarily the best that has already been shared numerous times.  It does not have to be the newest and most important information.  If this is your plan you better have a back up because in a very short amount of time you will be doing one of 5 things:

  1. Regurgitating the same information that many others have already written about
  2. Slowing down on your blog posts
  3. Eliminating your blog altogether
  4. Adding more guest bloggers to fill in your large gaps
  5. Recycling the same blogs you have already written about with a few different words

I do not cave to the pressure to be the best in this crazy industry.  I write as often as I think about something to share which on the low-end is once per month and on the high-end is around once per week.  I believe that putting out content is important but it should be content that matters not just anything to push out a blog.  When I think about blogging I put a topic through my “Golden Nugget” rules of thumb to help me stay focused on maintaining quality blogs versus just words on a page.

  1. If I didn’t know what I know, would I like to know it?
  2. Is it helpful?
  3. Is it important?
  4. Is it useful?
  5. Is it still relevant?
  6. Is it white noise?
  7. Can the beginner do this right now?
  8. Is it a unique topic or can I show people how to think about / use it in a different way?

Sometimes I write a few blogs in a row like those I wrote after Brand Camp this year.  I was totally inspired to talk about what I learned and put it into a my way of thinking.  Sometimes I write when a thought hits me.  The way I look at it, I would rather be helpful and share useful information that I think people will benefit from than just become one of the many white noise producers.  If I can share a little “ah ha!” with my followers then I have successfully done a good job.  I believe it’s the little nuggets that people appreciate most.  If I can keep my readers interested in what I’m writing about long enough to finish reading everything I have written, then I have offered them value.

There are a ton of social media guru’s writing about Blogging and Vlogging, Video, Podcasts and other grandiose things.  Those are great things written by the icons in the industry whom I admire, respect greatly and follow.  I hope to be where they are some day but right now I am not and I choose to write to those more closely associated with where I am at currently.  I share the information one level below where the gurus are which are the nuts and bolts of managing social media which include tools, quick tips, ah-ha tid-bits and things that sometimes are overlooked because they go back to the basics.  We need to remember that every day we have beginners jumping into our social pool who are where we were years ago.  Remember that?  Remember when you were a sponge absorbing information from anyone who would talk to you?  It’s like that!

 

Author: SteelMonarch1

Mother, Wife, runner, social butterfly & happy employee who has turned social media it into a passion, a job and an experience. I share what I know and what I learn about social media for business from the many networks I frequent with all of my followers so they may incorporate it into their world. I am always learning in this ever changing environment that never stops and enjoy the non stop pace probably because I don't either. Connect with me and we can share the path!

Leave a Reply

