The Social MEDIA TRIFLE

Taking it on one spoonful at a time!

A Necessary Evil

Leave a comment

goodbad_featureEvery single social media manager deals with them.  Their once tried and true resource that now post 95% irrelevant junk and 5% awesomeness.  It used to be compelling to follow these folks but now not only is the resource pool mucked up by topical confusion but there are more resources in the mix offering less nuggets and more pellets if you will.  I find that one of the reasons that social media takes so long at times to find good material to share is that there is so much cyber garbage in the world!  It used to be that everyone who jumped into the game a few years ago either wrote or shared laser focused material specific to their mission and business.  There used to be a distinct pattern and expectation that you could plan to see from the resources you were tuning into in order to find relative things to share with your audience.  These days I find it highly frustrating at the amount of time that this process has grown into taking up in my work life which these days also seems to spill into home life with the creation of anywhere technology.

This is a topic for another day.  The fact is that the trend that seems to be taking over, which is rather bothersome, is that my golden nugget sources, my pinnacle bloggers and socially savvy gurus have seemingly digressed in their once pinpoint centered subject matter offerings.  I used to know who I could go to for certain topics, industry news and wonderfully informative blog articles.  If I needed a down and dirty informative nugget to share to fill a gap in my social sharing it was much easier and it used to take less time to put out what seemed like more information.

Now some of my sources have grown more “ecclectic” in what they are sharing in their attempt to grab more followers.  Recipes and top news stories just add to the mental mess that needs to be cleaned up daily and which I do not appreciate most days unless those things directly pertain to what I am about. The unfortunate thing about this trend is that just when I am about to give up on a resource due to frustration they put out one or several tidbits of educational information that I am compelled to share and then again raise then to god-like status in my bucket of wisdom purveying worthiness.  It’s a viscous cycle that I liken to a psychological disorder resulting in a maddening ride of ups and downs.

Are they brilliant or unfocused?  I have my opinions and they are just that, my opinions.  The fact is that we, as social media managers, do share the same problem.  Resources that teeter on the brink of elimination and always come through at the Nth hour with something perfect, brilliant and amazing that once again force us to raise them back to good standing and continuing the cycle of what my friend @RyanHanley_com refers to as Content Warfare.

Author: SteelMonarch1

Mother, Wife, runner, social butterfly & happy employee who has turned social media it into a passion, a job and an experience. I share what I know and what I learn about social media for business from the many networks I frequent with all of my followers so they may incorporate it into their world. I am always learning in this ever changing environment that never stops and enjoy the non stop pace probably because I don't either. Connect with me and we can share the path!

Leave a Reply

