The Social MEDIA TRIFLE

Taking it on one spoonful at a time!

Food For Thought

Leave a comment

food for thoughtAs I get older I really enjoy reading.  I must have 20 books on my kindle all partially read because time and responsibilities keep me from reading for hours on end.  One of the things I enjoy reading in my line of work are a few specific blogs.  One in particular was referred to me by my boss just recently.  It’s a blog by a guy I don’t even know.  His name is Matt Norman and he doesn’t write about technical stuff or business logic or social media gook that has been regurgitated over and over again.  Nope.  Matt writes about thoughtful topics.  The kind of material that can be applied to life, work, communication or whatever you decide to apply it to.  I could most definitely apply this week’s rant: Why You Need to Start Disappointing (Some) People  to my personal life but to work as well.

Social media is a vast and confusing world where every day there are more articles to read, share and talk about.  More people calling themselves experts throwing opinions at you that you need to decide if you take the time to read.  You already know who the people are that have come to earn your respect in your industry.  They have done so over time and through many words of wisdom and sharing of information sources and trade secrets.   Michael Stelzner, Brian Solis, Chris  Brogan are three of my personal favorite social media moguls.  People like this already have your respect.  The challenge is that in order to apply the label of  thought leader to a select few among the many, you have got to weed out all the chatter heads from those with real valuable information that is worth sharing.  This requires you to do exactly what Matt talks about this week.  Who do you disappoint by not spending the time and effort reading their stuff?  Who gets sent to the floor of the editing room so you can focus on absorbing information that will matter to you and your followers?  It isn’t quite the same as turning down an actual person who shows up at your desk, however, the fact remains that it is a conscious decision, made by you, on how you will be utilizing your time and where.  Still a proverbial and most possibly unknown disappointed to many I would venture to argue.

We need to be smart about how we use our social media platforms, resources and thought leader insights.  If we don’t we will get swept up in the aftermath of internet noise where no one may ever realize its’ happened.

Author: SteelMonarch1

Mother, Wife, runner, social butterfly & happy employee who has turned social media it into a passion, a job and an experience. I share what I know and what I learn about social media for business from the many networks I frequent with all of my followers so they may incorporate it into their world. I am always learning in this ever changing environment that never stops and enjoy the non stop pace probably because I don't either. Connect with me and we can share the path!

Leave a Reply

