The Social MEDIA TRIFLE

Taking it on one spoonful at a time!

Discovering Twitter Chat

Leave a comment

Well this week I took Twitter to a whole new level.  I discovered Tweet Chats.  These are specific discussions with like minded people organized around one specific hashtag (#) to talk about ANYTHING!  I of course checked out two running chats and keep my eye on a third.  #runchat is a popular one, #tnfecs was one on Monday designed for endurance athletes to discuss triathlons, ironman training and like activities.  Great conversation from just the most amazing people.  Who knew I would find the greatest knowledge and stories there.  The third one I really enjoyed participating in was #poweredbybits.  This one happens on Tuesdays and I had the same experience there. They are usually about an hour and if you don’t find new mentors and leaders to follow there then you are brain dead. These chats take place on the same day of the week and generally each or every other week.

tweet_chat

There are chats for nearly every topic that you can think of.  These are fast moving conversations that require your attention and swift fingers.  Things I learned included:

  • The hosts of the chat usually ask questions to spark initial conversations that tailor off into many threads
  • questions are posed as Q1  Q2 and so on and should be answered with the appropriate response that starts witht A1, A2 and so forth.
  • If you reply to one individual comment from someone, Twitter does not automatically assign the chat hashtag to your response like it does for the discussions in the main group.  You should include that in your response so your comment falls into the main feed for the chat.
  • It is acceptable to favorite comments, quotes and advice that you like.
  • It is also acceptable and appreciated when you reply or retweet the same.

These forums are great learning arenas that give you knowledge in one hour that would take weeks to do reading in all your spare time after work *YAH RIGHT*!  You should try it out.  I am now much more fluent in Twettiquette (yes I made that up… I think) and know i’ll use this as a tool much more that I had been doing before.

 

Happy Tweeting!

Author: SteelMonarch1

Mother, Wife, runner, social butterfly & happy employee who has turned social media it into a passion, a job and an experience. I share what I know and what I learn about social media for business from the many networks I frequent with all of my followers so they may incorporate it into their world. I am always learning in this ever changing environment that never stops and enjoy the non stop pace probably because I don't either. Connect with me and we can share the path!

Leave a Reply

