The Social MEDIA TRIFLE

Taking it on one spoonful at a time!

Just call me Neo

Leave a comment

matrix1No I don’t really think I’m Keanu Reeves, but being what I could be considered as a social media power user, I surf the internet and find anything I want at the drop of a hat.  If I want to learn about the latest news like the LAX shooting I found out about today… BOOM!  I am instantly infused with as much information as I can read.  If I want to find out what my proverbial mentors Brian Solis or Michael Stelzner are up to…BOOM!  the information is given to me.  My newsfeed and news aggregators are tools that I couldn’t ….no wouldn’t be without to say the least.  they are the greatest tools ever!  There are a couple of reasons I really love them.

 

  1. I sound super smart when I talk to people in the office and actually have a clue about the world news that I used to have to wait to get at home.  LOVE SOUNDING SMART
  2. It is beneficial for me to be able to comment, favorite and re-tweet / re-post other peoples notes about these events.
  3. it makes my life SO much easier to go to one place rather than 750, which really wouldn’t be possible in the abbreviated schedule that I have for finding posting material.

I could list many other reasons but those are the top 3.

In my thoughts it just seems so much like the movie the Matrix when Neo or Morpheus jump in the chair, plug themselves in and request information.  I am responsible for the social media well being for many companies including my own employer.  Without these tools, I would not be able to be even one fraction as successful as I am.  These resources allow me to multi task at a higher level.  I can squeeze several additional tasks into any given day because I have all this wonderful, beautiful data at my beck and call.

I will say that even I, the queen of switching gears, can get overwhelmed with the resources out there.  I liken it to a kid in a penny candy store  with just a quarter (oops…just dated myself there).  There is certainly a lot to choose from but time and resources dictate that I can only have so much.  That is ok.  I’ve learned to live within my boundaries but what awesome boundaries they are!

 

 

Author: SteelMonarch1

Mother, Wife, runner, social butterfly & happy employee who has turned social media it into a passion, a job and an experience. I share what I know and what I learn about social media for business from the many networks I frequent with all of my followers so they may incorporate it into their world. I am always learning in this ever changing environment that never stops and enjoy the non stop pace probably because I don't either. Connect with me and we can share the path!

Leave a Reply

