The Social MEDIA TRIFLE

Taking it on one spoonful at a time!

3 Helpful Tips To Avoid The Blackhole Of Social Media

Leave a comment

black holeI was reading an article the other day and the author made a comment that hit home with me as being a regular problem of working in the world of social media.  It was one of those “ah-ha” moments that makes you say “Yeah, No Kidding!”   The comment had to do with how easily you can get distracted in the information abyss when cruising through the social media highway.  You start off with good intentions and a clear focus, and before you know it three hours have passed and you aren’t anywhere near accomplishing what you set out to do.  For example, you start your day off sifting through your news feed for some new tidbits of information to share with your fans and you see a post that you want to check out.  You click on the link and are then whisked away to another location where you can read the full article.  Once you get there however, you see four or five links to topics that are also of interest to you that you’d like to share.  You then do the magic right click to “open link in new tab” for each of those.  As a result of a few clever authors with titles that grab your attention, you head over to look them over and once again when you get there you see a few article titles that are also of interest.

THIS is what I call the black hole.  The process of opening more and more tabs with more and more information on it until you don’t remember where you started.  As I write this blog it happened to me again!  One little side project led me to an hour and a half of swinging like Tarzan from one social media vine to another.

It’s going to happen to you if it hasn’t already.  Trust me, there is no doubt that you will, in the near future, find yourself immersed in something other than what you started out doing.  Just accept it because it’s part of the pitfalls of a Digital Experience Coordinator or social guru as you may call yourself.  I like my title so I’ll stick with that.  Whatever you call yourself, just keep in mind that social media can and is a lot like the black hole or even quicksand for that matter.  It will inevitably suck you in and berate you with so much input that you suddenly find yourself like Alice in Wonderland trying desperately to find your way out of the rabbit hole.

Now, knowing this is half the battle.  There are some things that I’ve learned to help me better manage my time.

  • I bookmark sites for review at the end of the day.
  • I have a system set up where I send a link to the topical expert in the company and make them read the article to see if it is something we should share.  This is actually a great way to stay on track
  • I dedicate deliberate hours to surfing for new information and stick to it

You may find other ways to steer clear of the almighty time suck of the black hole.  I’d love to hear how you manage those field mines yourself.  Post a comment with your suggestions.  The more we share the better we become.

Author: SteelMonarch1

Mother, Wife, runner, social butterfly & happy employee who has turned social media it into a passion, a job and an experience. I share what I know and what I learn about social media for business from the many networks I frequent with all of my followers so they may incorporate it into their world. I am always learning in this ever changing environment that never stops and enjoy the non stop pace probably because I don't either. Connect with me and we can share the path!

Leave a Reply

