The Social MEDIA TRIFLE

Taking it on one spoonful at a time!

How NOT to draw a blank

Leave a comment

One of the things that I find I am asked most about social media for business is “How will I find enough material to post?”.  I always giggle to myself when I hear this because I think..”How can you not be overwhelmed with things to post?”.  Now perhaps this is because I am a new mind to your ‘old’ business.  I think about it like you did back when it was brand new and you were oh-so-excited about growing it.   You may still be oh-so-excited about growing it but in many cases  the day to day drama of bills, customers, orders, employees, payroll and the like tent to inhibit your ability to be creative.

The key to successful implementation of a social media presence  is to post material that is useful, helpful, informative, educational, important and let’s not forget funny, SOCIAL (duh), unusual, news worthy and unique.  Now if I were trying to come up with this material strictly on my own, I might feel a little unsure about the success of what I was sharing and at some point, run out of material to share.  The nice thing here is that you should not be relying just on yourself here.  Why?  Because the fact is that it is everyone else will be helping supply you with material to write about, post, comment on and share.  How is it that I manage to build and maintain a social presence for a small Independent Insurance Agency that far exceeds what our competition is doing?  I use the resources provided to me by our vendors, competitors, industry experts and all of their resources.  I personally don’t know much about insurance but I utilize those who do to create an outstanding social presence that keeps people coming back and referring us time and again.  So how can you begin to utilize resources to your advantage?  Here are a few ways.

  • Set yourself up with an information congregation tool such as Google Alerts and Google Reader and start subscribing to RSS feeds and blogs for those influential entities in your industry otherwise known as the experts.
  • Make sure you begin “Liking” & “Following” the Facebook and Twitter business pages for these same entities and other resources who provide valuable information that you can share.  These posts will fall into your news feed and your Twitter home page where you can easily scroll through to pick out the important items to share, comment on, re-tweet and favorite.
  • Take some time to look at who your mentors are following to see what you’ve missed so you can add it to your information stream.
  • Break down information that you regularly share / answer for customers and turn them into blogs / posts.  This could include FAQ’s, DIY information, How to’s etc.
  • Read through publications from your vendors for take aways.
  • Listen to your customers when they are in the office for testimonials and questions that you can share.

These are just a few ways you can begin feeding yourself with what is going on in your industry to provide useful and timely tid-bits of knowledge to your audience.  Remember, it isn’t always about being the most knowledgeable about everything as much as it is knowing where to get the information and share it.  Start with a few and I guarantee you will begin branching out with the resources you are using to stay out in front of the pack and be as influential and engaging as possible.

Author: SteelMonarch1

Mother, Wife, runner, social butterfly & happy employee who has turned social media it into a passion, a job and an experience. I share what I know and what I learn about social media for business from the many networks I frequent with all of my followers so they may incorporate it into their world. I am always learning in this ever changing environment that never stops and enjoy the non stop pace probably because I don't either. Connect with me and we can share the path!

Leave a Reply

